Jacks Ridge XXX 100

This year was the birth of the  The Jacks Ridge xxx 100. A mountain bike race held in Nambucca Heads (about 45mins South of Coffs). The track is 10km and about 99.99999% single track! Couldn’t get much better if you ask me! The Nambucca Valley cycle club hosted the event along with Refusenix Racing. The options were 30km, 50km or the big 100km! And creating a fun environment they also accommodated for teams!

Earlier in the year I mentioned to my coach, Fenz (FTP Training) that there was a 100km mountain bike race coming up with a shorter option of 50km. He responded in an email that he has put me down for the 100km with a winkie face so I thought he was joking as I have never competed in a 100km mtb race before…. BUT when I checked my schedule low and behold he was not joking! I accepted the challenge and put the hours into my legs to get me buzzing for the longer style race.

Race weekend came and so did a bit of rain, not to worry though as the track they have crafted down there drains as if it were made by a professional engineer!

I set off on my first of 10 laps with my boom box blasting out the beats and the track was in mint condition! The rain on the track had made it perfect! My Continental tires kept me upright and I was having a blast tipping my bike to the limits! Unfortunately though the rain decided to return an hour or so into the race.. But it did not return slightly it turned the taps on high pressure! Usually the track would of handled this rain but with the 150 off riders all going around the one track it turned into a mud fest.. As time went on the track ended up with less mud on the track but more splattered up everyone’s backsides!

The race was called short and the 100kers only had to do 7laps. This was slightly relieving at the time but a disappointment to not be able to say that I did the full 100! However it was the right decision made by the race organisers so that we can continue to enjoy the track ion the future without it being too destroyed.            I was really really happy with my Cube 29er mountain bike especially the Sram XX1 that it had no issues even though it was unrecognizable in the mud.

I was very pleased to take out the female category and 6th over all! Of course this would have not been achievable without my Torq bars, gels and energy electrolyte drinks!

Big big big thanks as always to coach Fenz (FTP Training) for the brilliant coaching. Thanks to Torq Australia for the best nutrition products in the world and our team sponsors who without them it would not be possible!

And congratulations to my Mum for taking out her 30km female category! It must be the excitement of her new fast and furious Cube 29er on order!

Don’t forget to check the Torq Australia Facebook page for team and product news: https://www.facebook.com/TorqNutrition?ref=ts&fref=ts

602991_442737639155883_606113636_n

Pic thanks to Baxography. (before the rain started)

936238_10200208700645162_892378725_n

At least my sides were clean!

972138_10200203912725467_1538365370_n

Clean bike, clean rider and a boom box!

972085_401322633315411_349214023_n

Pic Thanks to Bill McDonald

https://www.facebook.com/TorqNutrition?ref=ts&fref=ts

Leave a Reply

